Research into light, new materials, and cosmic exploration are among the possible contenders for this year’s Nobel Physics Prize. The award, set to be announced on Tuesday in Stockholm, is highly anticipated in the scientific community. While predicting a winner in such a vast field is difficult, several individuals have been identified as potential laureates.

One potential contender is Anne L’Huillier, a French-Swedish atomic physicist. Her work focuses on studying the movement of electrons inside molecules using ultra-short laser pulses. L’Huillier was a recipient of the prestigious Wolf Prize last year, often seen as a precursor to the Nobel Prize.

Another candidate is Olga Botner from Denmark, who explores the universe using cosmic neutrinos, particularly at the IceCube Observatory in Antarctica. Her contributions to the field of astrophysics could make her a strong contender.

There is also the possibility of another Nobel Prize being awarded for research in quantum mechanics. Notable scientists such as Ignacio Cirac, David Deutsch, Peter Shor, and Peter Zoller have been mentioned as potential candidates. These scientists have made significant advancements in the field in recent decades.

Practical applications may also be considered for the Physics Prize this year. Stuart P. Parkin, a pioneer in spintronic materials that greatly enhance data storage capabilities, could be recognized for his groundbreaking work. Sharon Glotzer, a US physicist, has also been mentioned for her strategies in controlling the assembly process to engineer new materials.

The announcement of the Nobel Physics Prize will be followed by the Chemistry Prize, Literature Prize, Peace Prize, and finally, the Economics Prize. The Economics Prize was established separately from the original will of Alfred Nobel.